The United Nations Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) have listed four sites in Nepal - Kathmandu Valley, Lumbini, Chitwan National Park, and Sagarmatha National Park as world heritage sites.

Two of them are cultural and two are natural attractions with unique features and attractions that offer information, education, entertainment, and amusement. The heritage suites feature historic and cultural monuments that date back to more than two centuries, and natural attractions full of wildlife, vegetation, and the magnificent Himalayas.

Kathmandu Valley

Known as one of the world’s oldest capitals, Kathmandu Valley has 7 UNESCO sites on the heritage list. These 7 sites boast of cultural and historical monuments that represent various eras and regimes.

The Pashupatinath Temple, one of the holiest places for Hindus, lies on the banks of the Bagmati River.

pashupatinath temple kathmandu

Swayambhunath Stupa, which is probably 2,500 years old is the oldest heritage of Kathmandu Valley on the UNESCO list. The Stupa has two eyes representing wisdom and compassion and 13 rings representing the 13 steps of the ladder leading to Nirvana.

The 3 durbar squares of Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, and Lalitpur were capitals of the three states of the valley (Kantipur, Bhadgaun, and Patan respectively) during the Malla era. These durbar squares possess unique architecture and tiered temples and intricate works of wood and metals.

Another UNESCO listed site is the Boudhanath Stupa. Built around the 5th century the stupa is a mandala-style structure and is one of the biggest monuments of Nepal. Boudhanath’s vicinity is full of cultural attractions.

Changu Narayan Temple and its Newari settlement is also included in the list. The temple was built in the 3rd century BC and is located on a hilltop in Bhaktapur.


Lumbini, the birthplace of Lord Buddha is located in the southern plains 300 km west of Kathmandu. Also called Shakyamuni Buddha, he was born in the sacred gardens of Lumbini in 623 BC, evidenced by the inscriptions seen on the Ashoka Pillar. Other notable sites around Lumbini are the Maya Devi Temple, World Peace Stupa, the eternal flame, etc.


Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park was listed as a UNESCO in 1979. A remarkable aspect of this national park is that it includes the world’s highest mountain - Everest and other famous peaks like Lhotse, Pumori, Cho Oyu, Nuptse, and Ama Dablam. The national park is located at Solukhumbu District which has been inhabited by the Sherpas for the last four centuries.

Chitwan National Park

Established as the first national park of Nepal in 1973, Chitwan National Park was listed as a heritage site in 1984. The national park covers an area of 932 sq.km2. Rich in biodiversity and ecosystems, Chitwan National Park is home to endangered mammals like the Bengal Tiger, One-Horned Rhino, etc, and has one of the largest Sal forests in the country. Chitwan is also the home of the indigenous Tharu community.


Subscribe To Buddha Holidays Blog

Sign up to Buddha Air Blog Newsletter and get a weekly wanderlust update on the travel and backpacking world straight to your inbox.

  • Follow us